An ‘Oscar’ for Winds Behind The Willows

Receiving the ‘SPORTS PUBLICATION & AUTHOR OF THE YEAR’ award from the Minister of Sports, Dayasiri Jayasekara at SILK Sports Awards 2017, Sri Lanka.

For the third consecutive year, the annual ‘SILK Sports Awards 2017’ organised by, Sri Lanka’s premier sports promotion network, and sponsored by Sri Lanka Telecom was held on 28 November 2017 at the Bandaranaike Memorial International Conference Hall, Sri Lanka. It is recognised as Sri Lanka’s first annual sports awards ceremony for sporting excellence and contribution, with the objective of appreciating those who contributed to sports in numerous ways in the past years, including the greats of the game and those unsung heroes behind the scenes.

SLT SILK Sports Awards 2017 – Winners

Major Sports Awards:

1. Lifetime Achievement – Hemasiri Fernando
2. Sportsman of the Year – Dilantha Malagamuwa
3. Sportswoman of the Year – Nimali Liyanaarachchi
4. Most Popular Sports Personality of the Year – Asela Gunaratne
5. Duncan White Award for Sports Excellence & Contribution – Muttiah Muralidaran
6. Outstanding Para Sports Personality of the Year – Dinesh Priyantha Herath
7. Outstanding School Sports Personality of the Year – Aruna Dharshana
8. Outstanding University Sports Personality of the Year – Thilini Pramodika

Sports Contribution Awards:

1. Outstanding Contribution to Sports Journalism – Sunil Abeywardena
2. Up and Coming Electronic, Social & Digital Media Programme – Hiru Sports Corner
3. Sports Publication & Author of the Year – Ranjan Mellawa
4. Local Sports Brand of the Year – Goyo
5. Outstanding Sporting School of the Year – A. Rathnayake Central College, Walala
6. Coach of the Year – Sujith Abeysekera

Special Jury Awards:

1. Outstanding Generous Sports Personality – Sam Chandrasoma
2. Outstanding Dedication & Contribution to Promote Sports (chess) – Suneetha Wijesuriya
3. Outstanding Professional Contribution to Sports Science & Technology – Prof Ravindra Goonetilleke
4. Outstanding Contribution to International Sportswear Industry – MAS Holdings
5. Outstanding Contribution to Sports Commentary – Palitha Perera
6. Up and Coming Sensational Athlete – Ruwansa Weerakkodi

Sports Excellence Awards:

1. Cricketer of the Year – Rangana Herath
2. Badminton Player of the Year – Niluka Karunaratne
3. Rugby Player of the Year – Danushka Ranjan
4. Cyclist of the Year – Jeewan Jayasinghe
5. Swimmer of the Year – Kyle Abeysinghe
6. Motor Sportsman of the Year – Ashan Silva
7. Powerlifter of the Year – Indika Paranagama
8. Carrom Player of the Year – Chamil Cooray
9. Chess Player of the Year – Zainab Saumy

The champion, Muttiah Muralidaran accepting the ‘Duncan White Award for Sports Excellence and Contribution’ from Minister of Sports, Dayasiri Jayasekara.

Sri Lanka International, Sachithra Senanayake displaying his talents other than cricket.

The brains behind SLT Silk Sports Awards, Thilan Rangana, Chairman/Managing Director of


Posted in Reviews and tagged , , , .


  1. Congratulations man … That calls for a night out just to talk about this.
    Very smart … not only the best author also the best dressed.

  2. Congratulations !! This is brilliant news !!!
    Nice to see your hard work being recognized.
    Very proud of your achievement.

  3. OMG Ranjan how happy to see that your effort has been given the due recognition it so richly deserved. My most sincere congratulations! I am over the moon.

    Nobody except a cricket aficionado of your calibre could have compiled a tome of this magnitude. I think I have mentioned this many times before.

    Indeed Ranjan even the Committee who decided to award you this honour would not have actually comprehended the actual value of this.

    • Thank you so much. Too kind, I’m telling you with all honesty, it’s an honour to get accolades from the best cricket writer in Sri Lanka!

      Very much value and grateful to your inputs before publishing and the continued support.

  4. Congratulations on a fantastic achievement.
    Your dedication and hard work has really paid off and it’s great to see that you are now earning recognition and accolades which you very much deserve.
    Good luck for the future.

  5. Congratulations! and All the best. It’s nice to be recognized for an inbuilt talent, very few pursue after, to find it. Warm regards

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.